Okay, maybe things have changed since I was a computer coordinator. Back then, It was the standard line to students from educators. “Don’t use Wikipedia.”

I’d like to hear from you. Has that changed at all since 2006?

Here’s why I ask. Today, January 8, 2012, I read an article in Science Daily about the entorhinal cortex. The article reported that a UCLA study suggests that stimulating this important brain region enhances memory and might be important in future treatments for Alsheimer’s disease.

I decided to check for more information about the brain region and looked at the Wikipedia article for background. You might imagine my surprise that the bottom section of the article contained a paragraph about the UCLA study.

Did I mention that the study is being published TOMORROW, January 9, 2012?

Maybe the more widely accepted Brittanica has also updated their article. I cannot check Brittanica Online Premium. I don’t have a subscription to that encyclopedia. I did a search, though and got no listing .of an article on the entorhinal cortex. this morning.

No student should be encouraged to read only from encyclopedias. That recommendation has always been wise. Check your sources. Look at multiple sources. Ultimately, try to find primary sources. However, is Wikipedia still “unacceptable” these days?

Please leave comments.

